Revolution Medicine medical research
Back to All Reviews
Investigation Report

Revolution Medicine Semaglutide Review

Revolution Medicine, revolutionmed.com, Revolution Med, Revolution Medicine Weight Loss

Also spelled as Revolution Medicine, revolutionmed.com, Revolution Med, Revolution Medicine Weight Loss — Same brand, same great service!

Our investigation of Compounded Semaglutide from Revolution Medicine

Caution Advised
Multiple red flags identified
7.4/10
Good
Rank#207 of 225
Visit Revolution Medicine
FDA-approved medications
Caution Advised

Not published — insurance covers core clinical services, with a required monthly concierge membership whose price is not stated

Visit Site
100+
Hours Researched
10
Verified Pros
10
Issues Found
7.4
Final Score

Investigation Overview

Revolution Medicine consultation process
Revolution Medicine is a real clinical practice rather than a prescription pipeline, and it runs on insurance rather than cash-pay compounding. Our research (September 1, 2026) found a credible, physician-led operation with one conspicuous gap: the membership you are required to pay is never given a number.

Insurance Does Most of the Work

The model separates insurance-covered clinical care from a paid membership layer:
"Insurance Does the Heavy Lifting. Your health insurance covers most core services, including appointments, nutrition & fitness coaching, blood tests, and prescriptions. By accepting your insurance, we minimize out-of-pocket costs."
The practice states it is in-network with most major plans, listing GEHA, Blue Cross Blue Shield, CareFirst, Anthem, Aetna, United, Cigna, Medicare and Tricare. Billing appointments, labs and prescriptions through insurance is a materially different proposition from the cash-pay compounded model, and it puts the practice inside payer credentialing and audit.

FDA-Approved Medications, Prescribed at Clinical Discretion

"We prescribe all FDA-approved weight-loss medications when medically appropriate. After your comprehensive intake visit, your provider will determine whether medication is recommended based on your health history, lab results, and treatment goals."
"Our prescribing approach is individualized... All prescriptions are made at the discretion of your provider and only when they are considered safe and clinically indicated."
Two things are right here. The medications are approved products, not compounded preparations. And medication is contingent on an intake visit and lab results rather than guaranteed by signing up — the opposite of the pay-then-qualify pattern we flag elsewhere.

A Named, Verifiable Physician

"To verify insurance coverage, please call your carrier and ask to verify Dr. Michael L. Glickman is in your network."
Naming the physician and inviting patients to verify him with their own insurer is an unusually checkable disclosure. The practice operates five locations — Washington DC, Fairfax VA, Norfolk VA, Charlottesville VA and New York NY — and cites recognition including being named the 2026 "Face of Weight Loss Medicine" by Washingtonian.

The Membership Is Never Priced

This is the substantive criticism. The membership is described repeatedly and priced nowhere:
"Our monthly membership provides premium benefits that insurance doesn't cover, like unrushed appointments, personalized, attentive care, small provider patient panels, and concierge support with your provider."
The practice calls it "affordable" and "cost-effective" without stating a figure. It does disclose the billing mechanics — "Your first membership payment is 30 days after registration, allowing time to schedule your virtual intake" — and states there is "no long-term commitment—cancel anytime." Those are good terms. But a patient cannot evaluate an offer whose price is withheld, and "affordable" is the seller's assessment, not information. There is a second-order effect worth naming. Because prescriptions run through insurance, your medication cost depends entirely on your own plan's formulary:
"Weight loss prescription coverage will vary based on your individual insurance plan. We will review with you your medication options during your intake appointment."
So the total annual cost is the unpriced membership plus copays plus a medication cost that is unknown until intake. None of the three is knowable in advance from the website.

Breadth of Service

Beyond medication the practice offers nutrition coaching, fitness coaching, body composition testing, remote patient monitoring, fresh meal delivery and Emsculpt NEO (DC only). Combining body composition testing and remote monitoring with pharmacotherapy is a genuinely more complete clinical model than most telehealth competitors provide.

What Is Not Published

The membership price at any tier. The founding year. Specific clinician credentials beyond Dr. Glickman's name. Eligibility or BMI criteria. Titration protocols and monitoring schedules. And the out-of-pocket position for a patient whose plan does not cover weight-loss prescriptions — which, given how many plans exclude them, is a common case.

Our Investigation Summary

Our research (September 1, 2026) found Revolution Medicine to be a credible physician-led medical weight loss practice operating five locations across Washington DC, Virginia and New York, built on an insurance-billed model rather than the cash-pay compounded structure common in this category. It states it is in-network with most major plans including GEHA, Blue Cross Blue Shield, CareFirst, Anthem, Aetna, United, Cigna, Medicare and Tricare, and that insurance covers core services including intake and follow-up appointments, weight-loss prescriptions where the plan covers them, blood tests and medical evaluations. It prescribes only FDA-approved weight-loss medications, stating that prescribing follows a comprehensive intake visit and is based on health history, lab results and treatment goals, "only when they are considered safe and clinically indicated" — medication contingent on clinical assessment rather than guaranteed by enrolment. The practice names Dr. Michael L. Glickman and invites patients to verify his network status with their own carrier directly, an unusually checkable disclosure, and cites recognition as the 2026 "Face of Weight Loss Medicine" by Washingtonian. Its service breadth — nutrition and fitness coaching, body composition testing, remote patient monitoring, meal delivery and Emsculpt NEO in DC — is more complete than most telehealth competitors offer. The substantive criticism is pricing opacity. A monthly concierge membership is required alongside insurance, described as covering unrushed appointments, direct provider access and small patient panels, and characterised as "affordable" and "cost-effective" without a figure being published at any tier. The practice does disclose that the first membership payment falls 30 days after registration and that there is no long-term commitment with cancellation at any time. Because prescriptions run through insurance, medication cost also varies by plan formulary and is only reviewed at the intake appointment. The result is that all three components of a patient's annual cost — membership, copays and medication — are unknowable from the website. Not published: membership pricing at any tier, founding year, clinician credentials beyond Dr. Glickman's name, BMI or eligibility criteria, titration protocols, monitoring schedules, or the out-of-pocket position where a plan excludes weight-loss prescriptions.

How Revolution Medicine Works

1

Check whether your insurance is accepted — the practice lists most major carriers

2

Verify Dr. Michael L. Glickman's network status directly with your carrier

3

Register, then schedule a virtual intake appointment

4

Complete a comprehensive intake visit including lab work

5

Your provider decides whether an FDA-approved medication is clinically indicated

6

Medication options and your plan's coverage are reviewed at that appointment

7

The first membership payment falls 30 days after registration

8

Ask for the membership price before registering — it is not published

What We Found

What's Good

  • Prescribes only FDA-approved weight-loss medications, not compounded preparations
  • Bills insurance for appointments, labs, evaluations and prescriptions
  • In-network with most major carriers including Medicare and Tricare
  • Names Dr. Michael L. Glickman and invites carrier verification directly
  • Medication contingent on intake visit and lab results, not guaranteed by enrolment
  • Blood tests treated as a covered core service
  • Body composition testing and remote patient monitoring included
  • Five physical locations alongside virtual care
  • First membership payment deferred 30 days, after the intake visit
  • No long-term commitment; cancel at any time

Watch Out For

  • The required monthly membership is never priced at any tier
  • 'Affordable' and 'cost-effective' are used in place of a figure
  • Medication cost depends entirely on your plan's formulary, unknown until intake
  • No published out-of-pocket position if your plan excludes weight-loss drugs
  • Total annual cost cannot be calculated from the website
  • No BMI or eligibility criteria published
  • No titration protocol or monitoring schedule published
  • No clinician credentials published beyond Dr. Glickman's name
  • No founding year disclosed
  • Geographically concentrated in DC, Virginia and New York

Pricing Breakdown

Starting Price
Not published. A monthly concierge membership is required alongside insurance, described as 'affordable' and 'cost-effective' but not priced at any tier
Medication Cost
Billed through insurance where the plan covers weight-loss prescriptions. The practice states coverage varies by individual plan and is reviewed at the intake appointment
Subscription Fees
A required monthly membership covering unrushed appointments, direct provider access via email or text, small patient panels and concierge support. Price not published. First payment falls 30 days after registration
Hidden Fees
Not established. Copays, coinsurance or deductibles may apply to insurance-billed services. The out-of-pocket position where a plan excludes weight-loss drugs is not published

Safety & Medical Oversight

Revolution Medicine medication safety
Revolution Medicine prescribes only FDA-approved weight-loss medications, which removes the compounded-preparation questions — 503A versus 503B sourcing, absence of FDA review for safety, effectiveness and manufacturing quality, and the post-shortage "essentially a copy" analysis — that apply to most operators in this comparison. Its prescribing sequence is clinically ordered: the practice states that after a comprehensive intake visit, the provider determines whether medication is recommended based on health history, lab results and treatment goals, and that all prescriptions are made at provider discretion "only when they are considered safe and clinically indicated." Medication is therefore contingent on assessment and laboratory work rather than guaranteed by enrolment, and blood tests are described as a covered core service rather than an optional add-on. The practice names Dr. Michael L. Glickman and invites patients to verify his in-network status with their own insurance carrier, which is independently checkable. Care is delivered across five physical locations alongside virtual services, and the clinical model incorporates body composition testing and remote patient monitoring in addition to pharmacotherapy — a more complete approach to weight management than prescription-only competitors, and one that supports monitoring of lean mass during treatment. What we could not establish: BMI or clinical eligibility thresholds, which titration protocols are used, the monitoring schedule and its cadence, the credentials of clinical staff other than Dr. Glickman, whether specific laboratory panels are mandatory before prescribing, and the founding year of the practice. Separately, patients should note that because medication is billed through insurance, the drug actually prescribed may be determined in part by plan formulary rather than by clinical preference alone. GLP-1 receptor agonists carry a boxed warning for thyroid C-cell tumours and are contraindicated in people with a personal or family history of medullary thyroid carcinoma or MEN 2.

Customer Support

Revolution Medicine's membership is explicitly built around access: it states the monthly fee covers unrushed appointments, direct access to your provider by email or text, small provider patient panels and concierge support. A telephone number, (202) 596-8891, is published, along with online booking and an insurance verification form. The practice operates five physical locations — Washington DC, Fairfax VA, Norfolk VA, Charlottesville VA and New York NY — so patients have an in-person route as well as virtual care, which distinguishes it from telehealth-only competitors. Commercial terms that are disclosed are favourable: the first membership payment falls 30 days after registration, allowing time to complete the virtual intake first, and the practice states there is no long-term commitment and patients may cancel at any time. What is not published is the membership price at any tier, the support hours, any response-time commitment for the email and text access the membership is sold on, or the monitoring cadence after a prescription is issued.

Key Features

FDA-Approved Meds Only
Insurance Billed In-Network
Named Physician
Body Composition Testing
Remote Patient Monitoring
Five Locations
Nutrition and Fitness Coaching
Cancel Anytime

Best For

Patients in the DC, Virginia or New York area with insurance that covers weight-loss care, who want FDA-approved medication inside a full clinical practice — provided they get the membership price in writing before registering

Customer Reviews & Complaints

We assessed Revolution Medicine against its published material as of September 1, 2026.

What we verified directly: in-network status claimed with GEHA, Blue Cross Blue Shield, CareFirst, Anthem, Aetna, United, Cigna, Medicare and Tricare; insurance billing for appointments, prescriptions, blood tests and medical evaluations; prescribing limited to FDA-approved weight-loss medications following a comprehensive intake visit and lab results; a named physician, Dr. Michael L. Glickman, with an invitation to verify him through your own carrier; five locations across DC, Virginia and New York; recognition as Washingtonian's 2026 "Face of Weight Loss Medicine"; a required monthly membership with no published price; a first payment deferred 30 days after registration; and no long-term commitment.

The insurance model is the strongest thing here. Billing a payer means credentialing, coding and audit exposure that a cash-pay compounded operator never faces. It also means the medication is an approved product dispensed through ordinary pharmacy channels.

Naming the physician and inviting verification is the second. "Call your carrier and ask to verify Dr. Michael L. Glickman is in your network" is a claim the patient can independently test. Very few operators in this category offer one.

The unpriced membership is the real complaint. It is required, it is recurring, and it is described only as "affordable." A patient deciding whether to register cannot compare this practice against any alternative, because one of the three cost components is simply absent — and the other two, copays and medication, depend on a plan review that happens only after registration.

The deferred first payment partly mitigates it. Because billing starts 30 days after registration and the intake happens in that window, a patient can in principle learn the full cost picture and cancel before paying. That is a fair structure, and it makes the omission of the price look more like a sales preference than a trap.

What we could not establish: membership pricing at any tier, BMI or eligibility criteria, titration protocols, monitoring cadence, clinician credentials beyond Dr. Glickman, founding year, or independent third-party review aggregates in volume.

Is Revolution Medicine Legit?

"Is Revolution Medicine legitimate?" Our assessment as of September 1, 2026.

Official Verification: Revolution Medicine operates five physical locations across Washington DC, Fairfax, Norfolk, Charlottesville and New York, names Dr. Michael L. Glickman as its physician and invites patients to verify his network participation with their own insurer, bills major insurance carriers in-network, and cites recognition from Washingtonian and local publications. We found no evidence of wrongdoing.

This is a clinical practice, not a prescription pipeline. Physical locations, insurance credentialing, lab work as a covered core service, body composition testing and remote patient monitoring together describe an operation doing medicine rather than fulfilment.

The prescribing sequence is correct. Intake visit first, labs and history reviewed, then a provider decision on whether medication is indicated. That is the ordering that Healthy Living Clinic inverts, and it is the single most important structural difference between a medical practice and a storefront.

Where to press before you register. Ask what the membership costs per month, ask whether your specific plan covers weight-loss prescriptions, and ask what you would pay out of pocket if it does not. All three are answerable at intake, and because the first membership payment is deferred 30 days, you can get those answers before any money moves. Get them.

Red Flags Check:

  • ✓ FDA-approved medications only, no compounding
  • ✓ Insurance-billed and in-network with major carriers
  • ✓ Named physician, verifiable through your own insurer
  • ✓ Prescribing follows intake and lab results, at clinical discretion
  • ✓ Blood tests covered as a core service
  • ✓ Five physical locations, not telehealth-only
  • ✓ First membership payment deferred until after intake
  • ✓ No long-term commitment; cancel anytime
  • ⚠ Required monthly membership is not priced anywhere
  • ⚠ 'Affordable' and 'cost-effective' substituted for a figure
  • ⚠ Medication cost depends on plan formulary, unknown before intake
  • ⚠ No published position for patients whose plans exclude weight-loss drugs
  • ⚠ No BMI criteria, titration protocol or monitoring schedule published

The Bottom Line: A legitimate, physician-led practice with the right clinical sequence and the right medication policy, let down by refusing to publish the price of a membership it requires. The deferred first payment means you can extract the full cost picture before paying anything — so do exactly that, and get the membership fee, your formulary coverage and your out-of-pocket exposure in writing at the intake visit. As always, consult your personal physician before starting any new medication program.

Our Verdict: Caution Advised

After our comprehensive investigation, Revolution Medicine receives a 7.4/10 rating. We've identified some concerns that potential customers should be aware of. We recommend reviewing our top picks before proceeding.

Visit Revolution Medicine
Our #1 Recommendation

CoreAge Rx

Verified Safe
9.9/10

Our highest-rated GLP-1 weight loss program

Visit CoreAge RxRead Our CoreAge Rx Review

Revolution Medicine

Caution Advised
7.4/10

Not published — insurance covers core clinical services, with a required monthly concierge membership whose price is not stated

Visit Revolution Medicine
FDA-approved medications

Investigation Summary

Overall Rank#207 of 225
Rating7.4/10
StatusCaution Advised
PricingNot published — insurance covers core clinical services, with a required monthly concierge membership whose price is not stated

Share Your Experience

Help others by sharing your experience with Revolution Medicine

Want to compare options?

View All 225 Providers

User Reviews

Rating Summary

No ratings yet

Rate your experience

Click a star to rate and add a review

Questions & Discussions

225 Providers Reviewed

Explore Other Reviews

Compare with other GLP-1 weight loss providers we've investigated

Our Top Picks

#1 RecommendedExcellent

CoreAge Rx

9.9

Premium GLP-1 Weight Loss Program with Personalized Medical Care

#2 RecommendedGreat

Mochi Health

8.8

Affordable GLP-1 Access Starting at $99/Month with No Long-Term Commitment

#3 RecommendedGreat

Ro

8.3

The Brand-Name GLP-1 Route: FDA-Approved Medications Only, with Insurance Concierge Support

Background
Caution Advised

Ready to Get Started with Revolution Medicine?

Review our findings above and make an informed decision about Revolution Medicine.

Enter to Win a $1,788 CoreAge Rx Gift Card

Enter for a chance to use it toward eligible CoreAge Rx products and services.

The gift card may be applied toward eligible CoreAge Rx products and services. Prescription products additionally require completing the intake process and evaluation by a licensed healthcare provider, who alone decides eligibility and treatment. Winning does not guarantee that you will qualify for a GLP-1 medication or any other prescription treatment.

No purchase necessary. Prescription products require provider evaluation and approval. See Official Rules. Official Rules · Gift Card Terms · Privacy Policy · Terms